British Governor Generals/Viceroys in India

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Governor General/Viceroy Period Points to remember
Warren Hastings 1774 - 1785 First Governor General in India. (He was the appointed as the Governor General of Fort William, but he exercised control over East India Company officials all over India.) He was impeached in England for his wrong-doings, namely The Rohilla War, Trial and execution of Nand Kumar, Case of Raja Chait Singh and Begums of Oudh.
Lord Cornwallis 1786 - 1793 Permanent Settlement, an agreement between the East India Company and Bengali landlords to fix revenues to be raised from land was introduced during his period.
Lord Wellesley 1798 - 1825 He introduced the Subsidiary Alliance, under which the Indian ruler agreed to keep British forces in his territory. The first state to accept the Subsidiary Alliance was the State of Hyderabad.
Lord William Bentick 1828 - 1835 First to be designated as the Governor General of India in 1828. He outlawed the practice of Sati and also introduced English education in India.
Lord Dalhousie 1848 - 1856 He introduced the infamous 'Doctrine of Lapse'. He also brought Railways and Telegraph to India. He is also known as the maker of modern India.
Lord Canning 1856 - 1862 He was the Governor General during the mutiny of 1857. He was appointed the first Viceroy after the war.
Lord Mayo 1869 - 1872 He was the Viceroy of India, who was killed by a convict in the Andaman Islands. The first census of India was conducted which did not however include some territories in India.
Lord Lytton 1876 - 1880 The Delhi durbar or the Imperial Durbar in which Queen Victoria was proclaimed Kaisar-i-Hind was held during his period on 01 Jan 1877. Vernacular Press Act, 1878, for better control of Indian newspapers was passed during his tenure.
Lord Rippon 1880 - 1884 He introduced the dual system of governance. The first complete and synchronous census of British Territories in India was conducted in 1881 during his period. He was also associated with Ilbert Bill which sought to allow Indian judges to try British offenders. He is hailed as the Father of Local Self Government in India.
Lord Dufferin 1884 - 1888 The Indian National Congress was formed during his period.
Lord Curzon 1899 - 1905 Partition of Bengal and launch of Swadeshi Movement.
Lord Hardinge 1910 - 1916 The Capital of India was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi during his tenure in 1911. George V, the King of England visited India to attend the Delhi durbar in 1911. An assassination attempt was made on his life by Rash Bihari Bose and others.
Lord Chelmsford 1916 - 1921 The Jallianwala Bagh tragedy of 1919 occured during his period. Montague Chelmsford reforms, Rowlatt Act, Khilafat movement are other events associated with his period.
Lord Reading 1921 - 1926 Chauri Chaura incident occurred during his period. Mahatma Gandhi was imprisoned for the first time in India.
Lord Irwin 1926 - 1931 His period is associated with First Round Table Conference, Simon Commission, Gandhi Irwin pact and the famous Dandi March.
Lord Willingdon 1931 - 1936 Second and Third Round Table Conferences were held during his period. Communal award was given by British PM Ramsay Macdonald and the Poona Pact between Mahatma Gandhi and Dr. Ambedkar was signed during his period.
Lord Linlithgow 1936 - 1943 Cripps Mission visited India and the Quit India resolution was passed during his tenure.
Lord Wavell 1943 - 1947 Simla conference and Cabinet mission are associated with his period.

Select the right answer

1. Subsidiary Alliance

2. Doctrine of Lapse

3. Partition of Bengal

4. Dandi March

5. Quit India Movement

6. Permanent Settlement