Tribunals in India

Central Administrative Tribunal
Purpose: For adjudication of disputes with respect to recruitment and conditions of service of persons appointed to public services and posts in connection with the affairs of the Union or other local authorities within the territory of India or under the control of Government of India and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto. This was done in pursuance of the amendment of Constitution of India by Articles 323A.
Principal Bench - New Delhi
Benches at: Ahmedabad, Allahabad, Bengaluru, Lucknow, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Cuttack, Ernakulam, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jabalpur, Jammu, Jodhpur, Jaipur, Chennai, Mumbai and Patna

Armed Forces Tribunal
Purpose: For adjudication by the tribunal of disputes and complaints about commission, appointments, enrolment and service conditions in respect of those covered by the Three Services Act, and hearing of appeals arising out of orders, findings or sentences of court martial. The tribunal will have original jurisdiction in service matters and appellate jurisdiction in court martial matters.
Principal Bench - New Delhi
Benches at: Kochi, Jaipur, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Lucknow, Guwahati, Chandigarh

National Green Tribunal
Purpose: For the effective and expeditious disposal cases relating to environmental protection and conservation of forests and other natural resources including enforcement of any legal right relating to environment and giving relief and compensation of damages to persons and property and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.
Principal Bench - New Delhi
Benches at: Bhopal, Pune, Kolkata, Chennai

Railway Claims Tribunal
Purpose: For speedy adjudication, providing relief to rail users by way of expeditious payment of compensation to the victims of rail accident or untoward incident, refund of fare and freight and compensation to those whose good are lost while with railways.
Principal Bench - New Delhi
Benches at: Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Bhopal, Calcutta, Chandigarh, Chennai, Ernakulam, Gorakhpur, Guwahati, Ghaziabad, Jaipur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, Patna and Secunderabad