Important Points to Remember on Sikhism

Guru Nanak, the founder of Sikhism was born at Talwandi in Lahore district of Pakistan, He is credited with starting the Langar (the system of providing food to all visitors in Gurudwaras).
The birthday of Guru Nanak is celebrated on full moon day of the Kartik month.
Guru Angad invented the Gurumukhi script
Guru Ramdas is credited with the establishment of the city of Amritsar.
Guru Arjun Dev is considered the author of the sacred text ‘Guru Granth Sahib’ He is also credited with the construction of the Golden Temple at Amritsar. Guru Arjun Dev was tortured to death by the then Mughal Emperor Jahangir.
Guru Arjan Dev got the foundation of Golden Temple (Harmandir Sahib) laid by a muslim saint Hazrat Mian Mir ji of Lahore.
Guru Hargovind called himself the Sachcha Badshah (True Emperor).
The concept of "Miri Piri" was highlighted by Guru Hargobind who wore two kirpans, one to symbolize the concept of Miri or temporal authority and the second to symbolize the concept of Piri or spiritual authority.
Guru Hargobind was imprisoned in the Gwalior fort for 3 years by Mughal Emperor Jahangir. He is known as Bandi Chod Baba for securing the release of 52 Hindu princes who were imprisoned with him at the fort.
Guru Tegh Bahadur was executed by Aurangzeb and Gurudwara Shish Ganj in Delhi stands at the place where he was executed.
Guru Gobind Singh, the last guru founded the Khalsa Sect making it mandatory for all Sikhs to possess five Ks –
  • Kripan (a sword),
  • Kachcha (shorts),
  • Kesh (long hair),
  • Kada (bangle)
  • Kangha (Comb).
The symbol of Sikh faith is known as the Khanda.

10 Gurus of Sikhism

NamePlace of BirthPlace of Death
Guru Nanak Dev (1469 to 1539)Nankana Sahib Punjab (Pakistan)Kartarpur Sahib (Pakistan)
Guru Angad Dev (1504 to 1552)Muktsar (Punjab)Khadur Sahib, Amritsar
Guru Amar Das (1479 to 1574)Amritsar (Punjab)Goindwal Sahib, Punjab
Guru Ram Das (1534 to 1581)Lahore (Pakistan)Goindwal, Punjab
Guru Arjan Dev (1563 to 1606)Goindwal, (Punjab)Lahore, Pakistan
Guru Hargobind (1595 to 1644)Amritsar (Punjab)Kiratpur Sahib (Punjab)
Guru Har Rai (1630 to 1661)Kiratpur Sahib (Punjab)Kiratpur Sahib (Punjab)
Guru Har Krishan (1656 to 1664)Kiratpur Sahib (Punjab)Delhi
Guru Tegh Bahadur (1621 to 1675)Amritsar (Punjab)Delhi
Guru Gobind Singh (1666 to 1708)Patna (Bihar)Hazur Sahib, Nanded (Maharashtra)