Important Years in Indian History

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Important Years in Indian History 1851 to 2013

Year Event
1851First telegraph line in India is operational between Calcutta and Diamond Harbour.
1853First train in India runs from Bombay to Thane.
1857First war of Indian independence also called the Sepoy Mutiny by the British.
1881The first complete census of population conducted on a uniform basis throughout India.
1885Formation of Indian National Congress by A.O. Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha, W.C. Bonnerjee and others.
1905Partition of Bengal by Lord Curzon. Swadeshi Movement launched.
1909Indian Council Act popularly known as Minto Morley reforms allowing a limited increase in the involvement of Indians in governance passed.
1911Visit of King George V to India, Shifting of capital from Calcutta to Delhi. Jana Gana Mana first sung at Calcutta session of INC. Launch of first air mail in India & World from Bumraulli to Allahabad.
1919Government of India Act, 1919 introducing dyarchy, Rowlatt Act, Jallianwala Bagh tragedy.
1920Khilafat movement, Launch of Non-cooperation movement.
1922Chauri Chaura outrage in UP, Suspension of Non-cooperation movement.
1928Visit of Simon Commission to India, Death of Lala Lajpat Rai
1929Resolution of complete independence at Lahore session of Indian National Congress.
1930Dandi March, Launch of the Civil Disobedience Movement.
1931Gandhi Irwin pact, execution of Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev and Rajguru.
1935Government of India Act.
1942Quit India movement, Formation of Azad Hind Fauz.
1943Visit of Cripps Commission to India.
1946British Cabinet mission visited India.
1947Independence and partition of India.
1948Assassination of Mahatma Gandhi, 1st Pak aggression
1950India became republic
19511st Five year plan and 1st Asian Games in Delhi
19521st General elections
1954Panchasheel signed by India and China
1956Reorganisation of Indian states on linguistic basis, India's first nuclear reactor, Apsara, achieved criticality.
1957Introduction of decimal system in currency
1959First television service started in India in New Delhi.
1961Liberation of Goa from the Portuguese
1962Chinese aggression
1964Death of Jawaharlal Nehru
1965Indo-Pak war
1966Death of Lal Bahadur Shastri
1969Split in Indian National Congress and nationalisation of 14 banks. India's first Atomic Power Station Tarapur commences commercial operation.
1971Indo-Pak war
1972Simla agreement signed between India and Pakistan
1974First nuclear test codenamed Smiling Buddha carried out at Pokhran (Rajasthan)(May 18).
1975First Indian satellite Aryabhatta launched, Imposition of Emergency in the country.
1977Congress loses power for the first time at the centre
1980Return of Congress to power, nationalisation of six more banks.
1982Colour television comes to India. IX Asian Games held in Delhi.
1984Death of Indira Gandhi.
1991Death of Rajiv Gandhi. Commencement of economic liberalisation in India.
1992Demolition of Babri Masjid.
1995Internet comes to India.
1998India’s second nuclear test codenamed Operation Shakti.
1999Kargil invasion by Pakistani troops.
2000India's population reaches 1 billion mark.
2001Earthquake in Gujarat (January), Attack on Indian Parliament (December).
2002Godhra incident.
2004Tsunami in Indian Ocean.
2008Launch of India's first lunar probe, Chandrayaan-1.
2013Launch of Mars Orbiter Mission.

Select the right answer

1. First Census of India

2. Chauri Chaura outrage

3. Partition of Bengal

4. Formation of Indian National Congress

5. Jallianwala Bagh Tragedy

6. Dandi March

7. World's first air mail

8. Quit India Movement

9. Introduction of Decimal System

10. Liberation of Goa