Cups and Trophies named after Persons

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

International Level

Cup/Trophy Named after Brief details
Davis CupDwight F. DavisHe was an American tennis player and politician. He was the founder of the Davis Cup international tennis competition.
Billie Jean King CupBillie Jean KingShe is an American former world No. 1 tennis player. King won 39 major titles: 12 in singles (including a Career Grand Slam), 16 in women's doubles, and 11 in mixed doubles (including a Career Grand Slam).
Ryder CupSamuel RyderEnglish businessman, entrepreneur, golf enthusiast, and golf promoter. He donated a gold trophy for the first official event of Ryder Cup.
Solheim CupKarsten SolheimHe as Norwegian-American founder of sports equipment manufacturing company PING.
Walker CupGeorge Herbert WalkerHe was president of the USGA in 1920 when the match was initiated. He was the grandfather of George W. Bush
Thomas CupSir George Alan ThomasBritish badminton, tennis and chess player. He was twice British chess champion and a 21-time All-England badminton champion. He also reached the quarterfinals of the singles and the semifinals of the men's tennis doubles at Wimbledon in 1911.
Uber CupBetty UberElizabeth Uber was an English badminton and chess player. She won 13 titles at the All England Open Badminton Championships.
Sudirman CupDick SudirmanIndonesian badminton player and also the founder of Badminton Association of Indonesia.
Sultan Azlan Shah CupSultan Azlan ShahHe was a Sultan of Malaysia and an avid supporter of field hockey. He founded the tournament in 1983.

National Level - India

Cup/Trophy Named after Brief details
Subroto CupAir Marshall Subroto MukherjeeHe conceived the idea when he was the Chief of Air Staff in 1958.
Durand CupSir Mortimer DurandForeign Secretary of British India from 1884 to 1894. Durand line between Afghanistan and Pakistan is also named after him.
Santosh TrophySir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhury, the Maharaja of SantoshSantosh is a place in Bangladesh. Sir Roy was the president of Indian Football Association which started the tournament in 1941.
Ranji TrophySir Ranjitsinhji VibhajiHe was the Jam Sahib of Nawanagar and played cricket for the English cricket team.
Duleep TrophyKumar Shri DuleepsinhjiHe was the nephew of Sir Ranjitsinhji and also played for the English cricket team.
Irani TrophyShri Zal R. IraniHe was involved with Board of Cricket Control in India from its formation in 1928.
Deodhar TrophyShri Dinkar Balwant DeodharHe played first-class cricket in India and also was the Vice-President of BCCI.