Brief Current Affairs of August 2022

Lead the Competition Related Video

Shri Jagdeep Dhankar

14th Vice-President of India

Born: 18 May 1951

Birth place: Jhunjhunu (Rajasthan)

Positions held

  • Governor of West Bengal (2019 to 2022)
  • Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs (1990-91)

44th Chess Olympiad

Venue: Chennai (Four Points by Sheraton)

Opening and Closing Ceremony: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Chennai)

Dates: From 28 July 2022 to 09 August 2022

Mascot: Thambi (Chess Knight dressed in white)

Open Rankings


Women's Rankings


Best Players

  1. David Howell (England)
  2. Oliwia Kiolbasa (Poland)

Gaprindashvili Trophy: India

Next Olympiad: Budapest in 2024

Note: The Indian team in open category were: D. Gukesh, Nihal Sarin, R. Praggnanandhaa, Adhiban Baskaran and Raunak Sadhwani.

Note: The Indian team in Women's category were: Koneru Humpy, D. Harika, R. Vaishali, Tania Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkarni.

XXII Commonwealth Games 2022

Venue: Birmingham (United Kingdom)

Motto: Sports is just the beginning

Dates: From 28 July 2022 to 08 August 2022

Opening and Closing Ceremonies: Alexander Stadium

Teams: 72

Mascot: Perry (Bull in reference to Bull Ring market of Birmingham)

Indian Flag bearers at the opening ceremony: Manpreet Singh and P. V. Sindhu

Indian Flag bearers at the closing ceremony: Nikhat Zareen and Sharath Achanta

Medals Tally

5.New Zealand20121749

India won 6 gold in wrestling, 4 golds in table tennis and 3 each in badminton, boxing and weightlifting.

Next Games: Victoria (Australia) in 2026

Take a Quiz on Commonwealth Games 2022

67th Filmfare Awards 2022

Best Film: Shershaah

Best Director: Vishnuvardhan for Shershaah

Best Actor: Ranveer Singh for 83

Best Actress: Kriti Sanon for Mimi

Best Supporting Actor: Pankaj Tripathi for Mimi

Best Supporting Actress: Sai Tamhankar for Mimi

Lifetime Achievement Award: Subhash Ghai

2022 BWF World Badmintion Championships

Venue: Tokyo (Japan)

Dates: From 22 August 2022 to 28 August 2022

Medals Tally


Men's Singles winner: Vikter Axelsen (Denmark).

Women's Singles winner: Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)

Indian pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty won the bronze in Men's Doubles category.

National CSR Awards – 2020

Awarded by Ministry of Corporate Affairs

CSR Spend equal and above Rs. 100 croresHindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited
CSR Spend ≥ Rs. 10 crores < Rs. 100 croresTata Steel Limited
CSR Spend ≥ Rs. 1 crores < Rs. 10 croresHoneywell Automation India Limited
CSR Spend < Rs. 1 croresTata Motors Finance Limited

AIFF Player of the Year Award - 2021-22

  • AIFF Men’s Footballer of the Year: Sunil Chhetri
  • AIFF Women’s Footballer of the Year: Manisha Kalyan
  • AIFF Men’s Emerging Footballer of the Year: Vikram Partap Singh
  • AIFF Women’s Emerging Footballer of the Year: Martina Thokchom

Fortune Global 500 List 2022

Indian Companies in the list

98Life Insurance Corporation
104Reliance Industries Corporation
142Indian Oil Corporation
190Oil and Natural Gas Corporation
236State Bank of India