Latest Current Affairs of January 2021

The Secretary of BCCI who has been selected as the Asian Cricket Council succeeding Nazmul Hasan of BangladeshJay Shah
The train running between Howrah and Kalka which has been renamed Netaji Express as a tribute to freedom fighter Subhash Chandra BoseHowrah-Kalka Mail
The well known playback singer and singer of religious songs and hymns who passed away on 22.01.2021Narendra Chanchal
The bilateral air exercise by Indian Air Force and French Air and Space Force to be conducted at Air Force Station, Jodhpur from 20.01.21 to 24.01.21Ex Desert Knight-21
In order to honour Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, Govt of India has decided to observe his birth anniversary on 23rd January every year asParakram Diwas
The permanent representative of Fiji to the United Nations who has been elected as the President of the UN Human Rights Council for 2021Nazhat Shameem Khan
The bike-based casualty vehicle developed by Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Sciences of DRDO and handed over to CRPF is namedRakshita
The city in which Elon Musk owned electric vehicle company Tesla has opened its first centre in IndiaBengaluru
The rank of India in the Henley Passport Index 2021, which is topped by Japan and Singapore85
India's first indigenous 9mm machine pistol jointly developed by DRDO and Indian Army in a record time of 4 months is namedAsmi
The theme of National Youth Day observed on 12.01.2021 (Birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda)Channelizing Youth Power for Nation Building
India's first cow dung paint with anti-fungal and anti-bacterial properties launched by Union Minister Shri Nitin Gadkari is namedKhadi Prakritik Paint
The second edition of biennial pan-India coastal defence exercise to be conducted on 12 and 13 January 2021 involving 13 coastal states and UTs is namedSea Vigil-21
The veteran Congress leader and former Chief Minister of Gujarat and Union External Affairs Minister who passed away on 09.01.2021Shri Madhav Singh Solanki
The theme of 16th Pravasi Bhartiya Diwas observed in virtual format on 09 Jan 2021Contributing to Atmanirbhar Bharat
The place in Haryana from where the world's first double stack long-haul container train started its journey to New Kishanganj in RajasthanNew Ateli
The place in Jammu and Kashmir where Khelo India Ice Hockey tournament being held from 06.01.2021Chiktan
The renowned santoor player who has been conferred the Tansen Samman 2020 by Madhya Pradesh governmentSatish Vyas
The place in Uttarakhand where India's first pollinator park was inaugurated by renowned butterfly expert Peter SmetacekHaldwani
The Russian ice-breaking cargo vessel which has been chartered to take the 40th Indian expedition team to Antarctica on 05 Jan 2021 from GoaMV Vasiliy Golovnin
The former Home Minister of India, Governor of Bihar and veteran Congress leader who passed away on 02.01.2021Shri Buta Singh
The new Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Railway Board who has taken over from Shri Vinod Kumar YadavShri Suneet Sharma
The former Indian hockey player and part of 1975 World Cup winning team who passed away on 31.12.2020Michael Kindo
The legendary mountaineer and decorated army officer (nicknamed Bull) who passed away on 31.12.2020Colonel Narendra Kumar

New President and Vice-President of the USA

President :Joseph Robinette Biden Jr. (born 20.11.1942)

46th President of United States of America

Sworn in by: Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts

Political party: Democratic Party

Served as Vice-President from 2009 to 2017 under President Barack Obama

Oldest sitting President of the USA

Vice-President: Kamala Harris (born 20.10.1964)

49th Vice-President of the USA

First female, first African-American and first Asian-American to become the Vice-President

Republic Day Celebrations


  1. Lt Gen Vijay Kumar Mishra led the RD parade as Parade Commander.
  2. Vintage aircraft Dakota and the latest addition the Rafale featured in the flypast during the RD parade.
  3. Flt Lt Bhawna Kanth became the first female fighter pilot to be a part of RD parade.
  4. Marching contingent and band of Bangladesh Army participated in the RD parade.
  5. Jat Regimental Centre Marching Contingent has been adjudged as the best marching contingent among the three services.
  6. Delhi Police Marching Contingent has been chosen as the best marching contingent among Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) and other auxiliary forces.
  7. Among the tableaux of States/Union Territories (UTs) Uttar Pradesh, Tripura and Uttarakhand were chosen 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively.
  8. Department of Biotechnology was chosen the best tableau among the Central Ministries/Departments/CAPFs/other auxiliary forces.
  9. Special prize was given to the tableau of Central Public Works Department (CPWD).
  10. Combined performance of Mount Abu Public School and Vidya Bharti School have been adjudged best school performance while the consolation prize went to Delhi Tamil Education Association Schools.

51st International Film Festival of India

Venue: Goa

Opening Film: Another Round by Thomas Vinterberg

Closing Film: Wife of a Spy by Kiyoshi Kurosawa

Best Film (Golden Peacock) Award: Into the Darkness directed by Anders Refn

Best Director Award (Silver Peacock): Chen-Nien Ko for ‘The Silent Forest’

Best Actor (Male) (Silver Peacock): Tzu-Chuan Liu for The Silent Forest

Best Actor (Female) (Silver Peacock): Zofia Stafiej for I Never Cry

Special Jury Award (Silver Peacock): Kamin Kalev for February

The ICFT –UNESCO Gandhi Medal: 200 Meters by Ameen Nayfeh

Lifetime Achievement award: Vittorio Stonraro (Italian cinematographer)

Country in focus: Bangladesh

Indian Personality of the Year: Biswajeet Chatterjee

IFFI 51 Special Mention Award: Kripal Kalita for Assamese film Bridge.

Best Debut Director: Brazilian Director Cássio Pereira dos Santos, for Valentina

Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar 2021

Sustainable Environment and Ecological Development Society : Institutional category

Dr. Rajendra Kumar Bhandari : Individual category

Dr. Vishwanathan Shanta

Born :11.03.1927; Death : 19.01.2021

Renowned Oncologist and Chairperson of Adyar Cancer Instittute


Ramon Magsaysay Award (2005)

Padma Vibhushan (2016)

Padma Bhushan (2006)

Padma Shri (1986)

India Innovation Index 2020

Released by NITI Aayog

Edition: Second

Major States
UT and City States
NE and Hill States
1.Himachal Pradesh

Padma Awards 2020

Padma Vibhushan

Public Affairs: Shri Shinzo Abe

Art: Shri SP Balasubramaniam (Posthumous)

Medicine: Dr. Belle Monappa Hegde

Science and Engineering: Shri Narinder Singh Kapany (Posthumous)

Others-Spiritualism: Maulana Wahiduddin Khan

Other-Archaeology: Shri B.B. Lal

Art: Shri Sudarhshan Sahoo

Padma Bhushan

Art: Ms. Krishnan Nair Shantakumari Chithra

Public Affairs: Shri Tarun Gogoi (Posthumous)

Literature and Education: Shri Chandrashekhar Kambara

Public Affairs: Ms. Sumitra Mahajan

Civil Service: Shri Nripendra Misra

Public Affairs: Shri Ram Vilas Paswan (Posthumous)

Public Affairs: Shri Keshubhai Patel (Posthumous)

Others-Spiritualism: Shri Kalbe Sadiq (Posthumous)

Trade and Industry: Shri Rajnikant Devidas Shroff

Public Affairs: Shri Tarlochan Singh

Padma Shri


Lead the Competition Latest Video