Current Affairs of September 2014

The town in Afghanistan which has been chosen by SAARC Culture Ministers Conference to be the SAARC cultural capital for a year beginning April 2015Bamiyan
The Hindi film directed by Geetu Mohandas which has been selected as India's official entry to the Academy Awards in the best foreign film categoryLiar's Dice
The initiative launched by Google India in association with Bollywood actor-director Farhan Akhtar’s initiative MARD, to increase internet literacy among women in the country is named (Google India had first time launched a ‘digital literacy’ initiative campaign called ‘Helping Women Get Online’ (HWGO) in collaboration with Intel, HUL and Axis Bank in 2013)Reach For The Sky
Two time Prime Minister of New Zealand who has been elected for a third termJohn Key
The venue of World Metropolis Congress with participants from over 49 countries to be held from 06 to 10 October 2014Hyderabad
The combined Indo-US military training exercise which is being conducted in Chaubatiya forest range, near Ranikhet in Uttarakhand is namedYudh Abhyas 2014
The unmanned capsule launched aboard Falcon-9 by Space Exploration Technologies Corporation, or SpaceX, carrying a 3D printer alongwith some other equipment to International Space Station is namedDragon
Veteran Akali Dal leader and former President of Shiromani Gurudwara Prabhandhak Committee who breathed his last on 19 September 2014Jagdev Singh Talwandi
China based e-commerce business (founded by Jack Ma in 1999) which raised $21.8 billion in its debut, making it the biggest US-listed IPO in history Alibaba
The place in Jammu and Kashmir which has seen repeated incursions by Chinese troops recently (around the time of Chinese President Xi Jinping's visit to India)Chumar
The Indian architect working with Bangalore-based nonprofit Parinaam Foundation, who has been named "Young Leader of Tomorrow" by Time magazine for his pioneering work in designing affordable flood-proof houses for slum dwellersAlok Shetty
The operation launched by Army to provide relief to flood affected people of Jammu and Kashmir, which was finally called off on 19 Sep was codenamedOperation Megh Rahat
The renowned mandolin player and composer of Carnatic music, (awarded Padma Shri in 1998 and Sangeet Natak Akademi award in 2009), who passed away at the age of 45 on 19.09.14U. Srinivas
The Chinese tennis player, winner of French Open in 2011 and Australian Open in 2014, who has announced her retirement from the gameLi Na
The state which has become the first in the country to ratify the National Judicial Appointments Commission Bill 2014 passed by Parliament last month (the Bill needs to be endorsed by at least 15 States before it can be sent for Presidential assent and brought into effect.)Rajasthan
Indian hockey team captain who has been chosen to be the flag-bearer of the Indian contingent at the Asian Games 2014Sardar Singh
The game in which players have been allowed to wear religious head coverings on trial basis for a period of two years by FIBA.Basketball
The veteran BJP leader who has been appointed as the Chairman of the Ethics Committee of the Lok SabhaShri LK Advani
Indian light welterweight boxer, winner of gold medal at 2010 Commonwealth Games, who has been chosen by the Sports Ministry for the Arjuna Award after being denied the honour initiallyManoj Kumar
The new Chairperson of National Commission for Woman Ms. Lalitha Kumaramangalam
The new Governor of Manipur who was sworn in by the Chief Justice of Manipur High Court Justice Laxmi Kanta MohapatraDr Krisan Kant Paul
The typhoon which hit northern Philippines on 14 Sep and then moved on to batter China's southern island Hainan forcing evacuation of thousands of peopleTyphoon Kalmaegi
The hurricane which hit the Mexican peninsula of Baja California causing substantial damage to property and stranding touristsHurricane Odil
The Indian shuttler who has won the maiden title of his career by winning the $ 1,25,000 Indonesian Masters Grand Prix Gold defeing Firman Abdul Kholik in the finalsH.S. Prannoy
The Indian tennis player who has been awarded the Davis Cup Commitment Award by the International Tennis FederationRohan Bopanna
The residence of Shri Jamshetji Tata in Mumbai which alongwith Shakargad Nivasini Devi Temple Complex in Satara dist of Maharashtra have been awarded UNESCO Asia Pacific Heeritage awardsEsplanade House
The ancient Indian University which started its first academic session in Rajgir, Bihar, more than 800 years after it was destroyedNalanda University
The former Chief Justice of India who has taken over as the new Governor of KeralaP. Sathasivam
Indian Navy's largest patrolling vessel which was commissioned at Chennai by the Chief of Naval Staff Admiral R K DhowanINS Sumitra
The place in Uttar Pradesh from where Sulabh International has launched its "Toilet for Every House" campaignKatra Sadatganj, Badaun Dist
The ancient Indian University which started its first academic session in Rajgir, Bihar, more than 800 years after it was destroyedNalanda University
The originator of online rice bucket challenge who has been chosen for Karmaveer Chakra Award and the Rex Karmaveer Global Fellowship by iCONGO, and international confederation of NGOs and the United NationsManjulatha Kalanidhi

US Open 2014

Men's SinglesMarin CilicCroatiaKei NishikoriJapan
Women's SinglesSerena WilliamsUSACaroline WozniackiDenmark
Men's DoublesBob Bryan
Mike Bryan
USAMarcel Granollers
Marc Lopez
Women's DoublesEkaterina Makarova
Elena Vesnina
RussiaMartina Hingis
Flavia Pennetta
Mixed DoublesBruno Soares
Sania Mirza
Abigail Spears
Santiago Gonzalez

2014 Right Livelihood Awards

Joint Honorary Award
1. EDWARD SNOWDEN (USA) "for his courage and skill in revealing the unprecedented extent of state surveillance violating basic democratic processes and constitutional rights".
2. ALAN RUSBRIDGER (UK) "for building a global media organisation dedicated to responsible journalism in the public interest, undaunted by the challenges of exposing corporate and government malpractices"”.

Right Livelihood Awards 2014

ASMA JAHANGIR (Pakistan) - for defending, protecting and promoting human rights in Pakistan and more widely, often in very difficult and complex situations and at great personal risk". It is the first time that a Right Livelihood Award goes to Pakistan.

BASIL FERNANDO (Hong Kong SAR) of ASIAN HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION (China) - for his tireless and outstanding work to support and document the implementation of human rights in Asia".

BILL McKIBBEN (USA) founder of - "for mobilising growing popular support in the USA and around the world for strong action to counter the threat of global climate change".