Sports Awards of India

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Awards by Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Govt of India

Name of the AwardGiven forFirst given in the yearMonetary Grant
Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna Award (Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award prior to 2022)For the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years immediately preceding the year during which award is to be given.1991-92Rs. 7.5 lakhs
Dronacharya AwardTo sports coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions.1985Rs. 5 lakhs
Dhyanchand AwardTo those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the promotion of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career.2002Rs. 5 lakhs
Tenzing Norgay National Adventure AwardTo recognise the achievement of persons associated in the field of adventure. 3 categories for adventure on land, sea and air and 1 award for lifetime achievement.1993Rs. 5 lakhs
Arjuna AwardOrdinarily not more than 15 in a year in each discipline with at least one award for sports for physically challenged. For good performance over the previous four years at the International level and also should have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.1961Rs. 5 lakhs
Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar4 categories (a) Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent
(b) Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility
(c) Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures
(d) Sports for Development
2009No cash award
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad TrophyOverall top performing university in the Inter-University tournaments. (The top 3 universities are given cash awards)1956-571. Rs. 10 lakhs
2. Rs. 5 lakhs &
3. 3 lakhs


Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Awards

Instituted in the year 2006-07 to recognise and honour Indian domestic and International Cricketers

Name of the AwardMonetary Grant
Polly Umrigar Award for International Cricketer of the YearRs. 5 lakhs
CK Nayudu Award for Lifetime AchievementRs. 25 lakhs
Madhavrao Scindia Award for most runs in Ranji TrophyRs 2.5 lakh
Madhavrao Scindia Award for most wickets in Ranji TrophyRs 2.5 lakh
M A Chidambaram Trophy for best Under-16, Under-19, Under-23, Woman and Woman Junior cricketerRs 50,000 each
Lala Amarnath Award for best all-rounder in Ranji TrophyRs 2.5 lakh
Lala Amarnath Award for best all-rounder in limited-overs tournamentsRs. 2.5 lakhs

All India Football Federation Awards

First given in 1992 to honour Indian footballers

Name of the AwardMonetary Grant
AIFF Player of the YearRs. 2 lakhs
AIFF Woman Footballer of the YearRs. 1 lakh