Members of the Felidae (Cat) Family and their Native Countries

AnimalScientific NameNative Countries
LionPanthera leoAfrica and India (Asiatic Lion)
TigerPanthera tigrisBangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Thailand
LeopardPanthera pardusAfghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia (Jawa), Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Yemen and most countries of Africa
Snow LeopardPanthera unciaAfghanistan, Bhutan, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and India (Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu-Kashmir, Sikkim, Uttaranchal)
Clouded LeopardNeofelis nebulosaBangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Thailand, Vietnam and India (Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Mizoram, Sikkim, Tripura and West Bengal)
Sunda Clouded LeopardNeofelis diardiBrunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia
CheetahAcinonyx jubatusAfrica and Iran (Asiatic Cheetah)
JaguarPanthera oncaNorth America and South America
PumaPuma concolorNorth America and South America

Note: There are 38 species of animals in the Felidae family. In addition to the above there are Lynx, Caracal, Ocelot, Serval, Margay, Bobcat, Guina and many varieties of cat in the family.