Awards by Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

Given for: For the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years immediately preceding the year during which award is to be given.

First given in the year: 1991-92

Monetary Grant: Rs. 20 lakhs (as of 2022)

Dronacharya Award

Given for: To sports coaches who have successfully trained sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions.

First given in the year: 1985

Monetary Grant: Rs. 15 lakhs (as of 2022)

Dhyanchand Award

Given for: To those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the promotion of sports even after their retirement from active sporting career.

First given in the year: 2002

Monetary Grant: Rs. 10 lakhs (as of 2022)

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

Given for: To recognise the achievement of persons associated in the field of adventure. 3 categories for adventure on land, sea and air and 1 award for lifetime achievement.

First given in the year: 1993

Monetary Grant: Rs. 15 lakhs (as of 2022)

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

Given for: 4 categories

  1. Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent
  2. Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility
  3. Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures
  4. Sports for Development

First given in the year: 2009

Monetary Grant: No cash award

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy

Given for: Overall top performing university in the Inter-University tournaments. (The top 3 universities are given cash awards)

First given in the year: 1956-57

Monetary Grant: 1. Rs. 15 lakhs 2. Rs. 7.5 lakhs and 4.5 lakhs (as of 2022)