International Awards - Literature

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

The Booker Prize

First Awarded in: 1969

Awarded by: Since 2019 the award is funded by Crankstart, the charitable foundation of Sir Michael Moritz KBE and his wife, Harriet Heyman.

Given to: Best original English Novel


  • The award was earlier known as Booker Prize for Fiction (1969 to 2001) and Man Booker Prize (2002 to 2019).
  • The award is named after Booker McConnell Ltd, the first company to sponsor the award in 1969.
  • Till 2014, only writers from the Commonwealth were eligible for the award.
  • The first winner was P.H. Newby for his novel Something to Answer For

International Booker Prize

First Awarded in: 2005

Awarded by: Since 2019 the award is funded by Crankstart, the charitable foundation of Sir Michael Moritz KBE and his wife, Harriet Heyman.

Given to: A single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland.


  • The prize was initially known as the Man Booker International Prize.
  • It was initially given once in 2 years till 2015. From 2016, it is been given annually.
  • Till 2015, there was no stipulation that the work should be written in a language other than English.
  • The first winner was Albanian writer Ismail Kadare.

DSC Prize for South Asian Literature

First Awarded in: 2011

Awarded by: DSC Limited, India

Given to: To writers for their work on South Asia themes.


  • South Asia for the purpose of award means India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.
  • The prize is sponsored by Surina Narula & Manhad Narula.
  • The first winner was Pakistani writer H.M. Naqvi for his book Home Boy.

Women's Prize for Fiction

First Awarded in: 1996

Awarded by: Women's Prize Trust, U.K.

Given to: Excellence in writing by women


  • The award was known as Orange Prize for Fiction from 1996 to 2012 and Baileys Women's Prize for fiction from 2014-2017.
  • The first winner was Helen Dunmore for her work A Spell of Winter.

The AKO Caine Prize for African Writing

First Awarded in: 2000

Awarded by: The Caine Prize (company), U.K.

Given to: Best short story by an African writer


  • The award is named after Sir Michael Harris Caine, former Chairman of Booker Group plc.
  • The award is sometimes referred to as the "African Booker".
  • Sudan's Leila Aboulela won the first Caine Prize for her short story "The Museum".

Windham-Campbell Prize

First Awarded in: 2013

Awarded by: Yale University, U.S.A.

Given to: English language writers from anywhere in the world


  • The award is endowed from the combined estates of writer Donald Windham and actor Sandy Campbell.
  • The award is administered by Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library of the Yale University Library in New Haven, Connecticut.
  • The award is currently given in 4 categories, viz., fiction, non-fiction, poetry and drama.

Select the Correct Answer

1. Booker Prize was first awarded in -

2. H.M. Naqvi, the first winner of DSC Prize was from -

3. Which prize is administered by Yale University?

4. Which prize given for book translated from another language to English?

5. The first winner of Booker Prize was -

6. Orange Prize for Fiction is now known as -

7. The first winner of Women's Prize for Fiction was -