Dynasties of Delhi Sultanate

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

DynastyPeriod of RuleProminent rulers
Mamluk or Slave dynasty 1206 - 1290 Qutubuddin Aibak, Iltutmish, Razia Sultan, Ghiyasuddin Balban
Khilji dynasty 1290 - 1320 Alauddin Khilji
Tughlaq dynasty 1321 - 1413 Muhammad Bin Tughlaq, Firoz Shah Tughlaq
Sayyid dynasty 1414 - 1450 Khizr Khan
Lodhi dynasty 1451 - 1526 Ibrahim Lodhi

Qutubuddin Aibak

  • He was a slave of Mohammad Ghori.
  • He was the first Sultan of Delhi and founder of the Ghulam dynasty (Mamluk Sultanate) of India.
  • He ruled for only four years, from 1206 to 1210 AD. He died while playing polo in Lahore.
  • He built the Quwwat Al Islam mosque in Delhi and the Adhai-din-ka-Jhonpra mosque in Ajmer.
  • He started the construction of Qutb Minar in Delhi, which is dedicated to a famous Sufi Saint of the time, Qutubuddin Bakhtiar Kaki.
  • He is also remembered as lakhbaksh or giver of lakhs, because of his generosity.


  • He was the first to issue regular currency and declare Delhi as the capital of his empire.
  • He introduced the silver tanka and the copper jital - the two basic coins of the Sultanate period, with a standard weight of 175 grains.
  • He introduced Iqtadari system: division of empire into Iqtas, which were assigned to the nobles and officers in lieu of salary.
  • He built the Hauz-i-Shamsi reservoir in Mehrauli in 1230.
  • He completed the Qutub Minar started by Qutubuddin Aibak.
  • Sultan Ghari which is considered the first Islamic Mausoleum in Delhi, was constructed by him in memory of his eldest son, Prince Nasiru'd-Din Mahmud.
  • Genghis Khan, the Mongolian invader appeared for the first time on the banks of river Indus, during his reign.
  • He was the longest serving Slave ruler who ruled for 25 years.

Razia Sultan

  • She was the first woman to sit on the throne of Delhi
  • She took over after the death of her father Iltutmish in 1236.



Select the right answer

1. Adhai din ka jhopra was build by Qutubuddin Aibak
2. The first Muslim dynasty to rule over Delhi was the Mamluk dynasty
3. Iqtadari system was introduced by Qutubuddin Aibak
4. Razia Sultan belonged to the Khilji dynasty
5. Qutubuddin Aibak was also known as lakhbaksh
6. Genghis Khan invaded India during the reign of Balban