Capitals of Countries of South America

*** इस पृष्ठ को हिंदी में पढ़े ***‌

Facts about South America

  • South America is the fourth largest continent with Asia, Africa and North America at the first, second and third position respectively.
  • It has only 12 countries, the lowest among populated continents.
  • Brazil is the largest country by area and population in the continent and occupies roughly half of the continent's land area.
  • Suriname is the smallest country both by population and area in the continent.
  • The southernmost point of South America is Cape Horn, located in Chile.
  • Equator passes through Ecuador, Colombia and Brazil, while Tropic of Capricorn passes through Chile, Argentina, Paraguay and Brazil.
  • South America is connected to North America by the Isthmus of Panama.
  • South America is separated from Antarctica by a body of water named Drake's Passage.

Interesting Facts about Capital Cities

  • The northernmost capital in South America is Caracas which is the capital of Venezuela.
  • The southernmost capital is Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay.
  • The highest capital in the world is La Paz, the capital of Bolivia.
  • The capital city located on the Equator is Quito, the capital of Ecuador.

Capitals of South American Countries

# Country Capital
1.ArgentinaBuenos Aires
2.BoliviaSucre (Judicial) and La Paz (administrative)

Map of South America

map of South America


Given below is a "Fill in the Blanks" quiz. Type in the name of the capital in the blank and click on the submit button to check your answer.

Fill in the blanks – Capitals of American Countries

1. Colombia
2. Argentina
3. Paraguay
4. Peru
5. Uruguay
6. Bolivia
7. Suriname
8. Chile
9. Ecuador
10. Venezuela

Lead the Competition

Identify the country


Score 0