Constituent Assembly of India

Facts to remember - Constituent Assembly

Facts to remember
The constituent assembly was formed on the recommendation of the Cabinet Mission which visited India in 1946.
The Constituent Assembly met for the first time in New Delhi on 9 December, 1946 in the Constitution Hall which is now known as the Central Hall of Parliament House.
Mr. Sachchidanand Sinha was elected provisional chairman of the assembly.
Dr Rajendra Prasad later became the permanent chairman of the constituent assembly.
On 13 December, 1946, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru moved the Objectives Resolution which resolved to proclaim India as an Independent Sovereign Republic and to draw up for her future governance a Constitution.
The Constituent Assembly took almost three years (two years, eleven months and seventeen days to be precise) to complete its historic task of drafting the Constitution for Independent India.
The Constituent Assembly held eleven sessions covering a total of 165 days.
India is governed in terms of the Constitution, which was adopted on 26 November, 1949, which was the last day of the Eleventh session of the Constituent Assembly.

This date finds mention in the Preamble to the Indian Constitution thus IN OUR CONSTITUENT ASSEMBLY this twenty-sixth day of November, 1949, do HEREBY ADOPT, ENACT AND GIVE TO OURSELVES THIS CONSTITUTION.

The honourable members appended their signatures to the constitution on 24 January, 1950.
The Constitution of India came into force on 26 January, 1950. On that day, the Constituent Assembly ceased to exist, transforming itself into the Provisional Parliament of India until a new Parliament was constituted in 1952

constituent assembly

Difference between Constitutent Assembly and Legislative Assembly

A constituent assembly is responsible for drafting or amending a country's constitution, defining its fundamental principles and rules. On the other hand, a legislative assembly is a body of representatives elected by the people to create and pass laws and govern the country. While both assemblies play crucial roles in a nation's governance, their primary functions are distinct, with the constituent assembly focused on constitution-making and the legislative assembly on lawmaking and governance.


Quiz on Constituent Assembly

State whether TRUE or FALSE

1. Dr. BR Ambedkar was the provisional Chairman of the Assembly

2. The Constituent Assembly was formed on the recommendation of Cripps Mission

3. The Constituent Assembly held ELEVEN sessions in all

4. Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru moved the Objectives Resolution

5. The members signed the Constitution on 26 Nov 1949

6. Constituent Assembly ceased to exist on 26 Jan 1950

7. Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the permanent Chairman of the Constituent Assembly