Swalamban and Sabla


SABLA scheme is the name for Rajiv Gandhi Scheme for Empowerment of Adolescent Girls [RGSEAG].

It merges the Nutrition Programme for Adolescent Girls (NPAG) and Kishori Shakti Yojana (KSY).

An amount of Rs. 1000 crore has been allocated in budget of 2010-11.

The scheme focuses on improving the nutritional and health status and upgrading various skills like home skills, life skills and vocational skills of adolscent girls of age 11 t 18 years.

It is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme to be implemented through the State Governments/UTs with 100% financial assistance from the Central Government for all inputs, except supplementary nutrition for which Government of India and States would share on 50: 50 basis.

The scheme is proposed to be implemented using the platform of Integrated Child Development Services Scheme and delivered through Anganwadi centres.


Swalamban Scheme has been launched on 26.09.2010 to encourage the workers of unorganized sector to voluntarily save for their retirement and to lower the cost of operations of the New Pension System (NPS) for such subscribers.

It was announced in the Union Budget 2010-11. It is a co-contributory pension scheme in which the Government of India (GOI) will contribute a sum of Rs. 1,000 to each eligible NPS subscriber who contributes a minimum of Rs. 1,000 and maximum Rs. 12,000 per annum under the Swavalamban Scheme.

The benefits of the Swavalamban Scheme have been extended from three years to five years for subscribers enrolled during 2010-11, 2011-12 and also for the subscribers enrolled during 2012-13. The scheme is likely to benefit around 70 lakh workers from the unorganized sector by the year 2016-17.

Workers of unorganized sector from any part of the country can join this Scheme. Implementation of the scheme has been entrusted to the Interim Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority (PFRDA).

The target beneficiaries of Swavalamban Scheme are:

  1. Co-contribution scheme beneficiaries of State Governments.
  2. Aanganwaadi workers.
  3. Construction workers.
  4. Occupational classes like weavers, fishermen, farmers, dairy workers etc.
  5. Beneficiaries of services from various NGOs.
  6. Beneficiaries of micro credit from MFIs, nationalized banks etc.